why am I so bad?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Spirit Engine Forum Index // TSE-2 Detailed Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
twood

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:53 pm    Post subject: why am I so bad? Reply with quote
I just started playing this recently, and am very impressed with the game. However, I think I'm awful at it, and I haven't quite figured out what I'm doing wrong.

(apologies in advance for all the incorrect place and character names below, it's been a few days since I last played)

I'm playing with Grace, PuanYuan (?? the foreign priest), and Kaltos. I just reached Fort Longreach (??) and will soon be taking a balloon ride. I had a lot of trouble fighting the enemies in the "Tall Grass" area before the fort. I'm not sure if this is because: 1) I'm using the wrong skill chains, 2) I should have been grinding some baddies to level up first, 3) I picked a poor party, or 4) something else entirely.

From browsing the forums here I have just discovered one big mistake--I hadn't realized that smoke screen provides defensive bonuses to the enemies as well (in retrospect this should have been obvious), but I'm not sure what else I've been doing wrong. I tend to have my priest alternate between healing and blessing both kaltos and grace. Grace I had using a lot of explosive bullets, although it sounds like that may not be a good choice. Kaltos I kept on "hack" for small enemies or slay for large, with occasional calls to Brace (?) when I needed him in the front as defense.

I do not make much use of the pause buttons, except for fighting the golem type thing which had an invincible mode. Likewise, I pretty much never use the overdrive stuff.

Any suggestions? I admit that I'm used to games being easy where I pretty much won't die unless I do something stupid, but in SE2 I'm dying quite regularly. I'm mainly in the game for the story and the characters, so I don't want to spend all my time dying and reloading!
Brickman
Human